Skip to main content

One more week, and I will be done

Hang in there Mita, hang in there! That's what I am trying to say to myself. It's only one more week to go, and I will be D.O.N.E. with schools! Done, done, done. No more class, no more assignment, no more homeworks, not to mention I am going to have additional degree (hahaha, cheesy :p).

Degree, well, it's not really a big deal for me. I should admit that I am happy that I have the opportunity to go back to school, meanwhile sometimes I feel that my knowledge is not really enough to have that degree. An old friend asked me one day - "What do you get by getting back to school?" Well, to be honest it's kinda difficult for me to answer it straightly. Of course I get more experiences and opportunities, yet how significant my achievements really are? I see other people with broader knowledge and deeper skills than mine, and some of them are not even go to graduate school. Make me kinda small sometime :)

Anyway, I am still so happy that I will be done soon. It's been two years getting back to school, and I think it's enough (To my "son" : literally, no PhD :p). It's now time to prepare myself to get back to life of work, whom always referred by this gentleman as a dark - busy - boring world. Hell yeah, maybe it is, but more years in school is such a pain the ass, especially in term of financial, hahaha. So better to be ready for that dark gloomy - yet beneficial world :D

So, wish me luck people, the job hunting is another pain in the ass indeed. Waiting for the answers are nervousness, and receiving rejections becomes routine. One ... two ... three ... there you go Mita, welcome back to real world.

Comments

Anonymous said…
PhD: Permanent head Damage, Patiently Hoping for a Degree.. :P

btw.. congrats.. n welcome to the real jungle of works... :D

Popular posts from this blog

Thanksgiving 2020

What a crazy ride we have been riding in 2020. The COVID-19 pandemic has pretty much put our life on hold, if not going on a slower pace. I feel that we are running a marathon, and it's not over yet. The emotional toll that we have been experiencing since March is real. Everything that we used to take for granted, like meeting up with friends, birthday parties, kids activities, traveling, the convenience of doing grocery shopping anytime we want, a lot of them have been taken away from us, from my family. No more parties, no more lunch or dinner with friends, no more invitation for birthday parties, no more traveling. Perhaps my life had become too easy before the pandemic. We had to switch Nathaniel from a brick and mortar school to a cyber school. I tried to plan my grocery trips ahead of time to avoid crowds. We had to wear masks everywhere. But at least we are healthy. At least I am facing this together with my husband and kids as a family. At least I am at home that is fu...

What would they decide ?

When I was a little girl, I heard a lot of stories about far-away lands from my mother. She told me stories that she got from my father's letters when he was away. Our family was apart for four years. My father went to school to Montpelier, France while my Mom raised my brother and me in Yogyakarta. Every other year Dad visited us, brought a lot of books and pictures home. Pictures of Versailles, Lourdes, Marseilles, Spain, and a lot more. He told us many stories, brought me from our little home to those countries, although only in imagination. Since that day, I convinced myself that someday, when I grow up, I will see those places with my own eyes :) About twenty some years later, my turn came. I stand here, a few thousand miles away from home. About once a week I call home, talked to my parents about this place. About the harsh winter in Pittsburgh, about my new town near Philadelphia, about my new job. I might not be here if my father never brought me those pictures, told me st...

Turned out alright

Last week everything turned out alright :) Jumat siang, dengan restu teman2 kantor :p gw cabut dari kantor, walaupun area leader gw ngajakin meeting buat next recipe, tapi dia bilang "Go ahead and don't worry about the meeting, you better get your license today :p" . Jam 12.30an, gw dijemput sama orang dari driving school, dan ngebutlah kita ke DMV Norristown ngejar ujian jam 2 siang. Gw deg2an banget, apalagi karena udah gagal 1x. Kalau gw fail lagi, means that I screw everything up. Karena in the next four weeks para tebengan bakalan cabut ke site di Oregon (gak mungkin kan gw jalan 2 mile ke kantor), kontrak apartment gw habis akhir September dan gw harus cari apartment baru, dan ada chance gw bakalan dikirim ke Oregon juga (walaupun bukan shift pertama). Tapi above it all, hidup tergantung sama orang lain itu sucks. Gw gak bisa bebas ke mana-mana, gak bisa cari kegiatan dan temen2 sendiri (temennya ya cuman temen dari temen gw), gak ada social life sama sekali. Nyampe...