Skip to main content

The day we're getting older

I got this title from Ulus' blog a year ago.

Today is not much different than the other days. The only different thing is only now I am not 27 anymore. Waks, 28, time really flies :) I try to avoid this day, but all I can do is only leaving Jakarta to Pittsburgh so my birthday will be delayed for about 12 hours, hahaha. Yet it doesn't work pretty well, since a lot of friends had greeted me yesterday (they all said : using Jakarta's time, hahaha)

A birthday is always be a good milestone to evaluate ourselves. What have I done, have I made any difference during last 12 months, did I make any mistakes and failures, have I been a better person? It is also a good time to question ourselves, what do you want to do with your life from now on?

Buat saya, pertanyaan-pertanyaan itu tidak pernah mudah untuk dijawab. Saya mencoba melihat diri saya sendiri, apa bedanya Mita yang sekarang dengan Mita setahun yang lalu? To answer it quantitatively is easier than qualitatively: I was in working in Jakarta a year ago and now I am a student in Pittsburgh; I have proved (at least to myself) that I could get a better job after several trying during last 5 years; despite of the fact that I am a student, I still managed to pay for my housing loan, hahaha. But what is the meaning of those quantitative measurements?

The more you have, the more you should thanks to God. Which I almost forgot this morning. Instead of saying "Tuhan, terimakasih buat semuanya selama 28 tahun ini", my first sentence was "Oh Tuhan, saya capek dan masih ngantuk banget nih, meetingnya pagi bener ..." hahaha, kacau. Sayangnya, saya sering lupa. Berkali-kali mama mengingatkan saya untuk tidak lupa dengan Yang Di Atas, berkali-kali pula saya melupakan nasihat itu. Often in my hardest time, I chose just to walk away, atau pasang tampang cemberut kepada Dia, seolah berkata "Look what You have done to my life, it's a mess". I forget, or just don't care with abundance love He gives me all the time.

Hey, I said that it is quantitatively. How about the quality of your life? Have I been a better person? Do I have a good relationship with the loved ones? Sudahkah saya memberi banyak seperti saya menerima banyak dari orang lain? Sayangnya kok susah sekali dijawab. Yang paling gampang dulu deh : I doubt that I am now a better person than a year ago. Saya masih Mita yang sering menyalahkan keadaan & orang lain instead of learning from our experience. Saya juga masih Mita yang di satu sisi sangat tidak percaya diri, tapi di sisi yang lain sangat sombong dan arogant (nah lho, bingung dah ;)

Oh well, akhirnya, saya sampai kepada pertanyaan yang diajukan Dewi, sobat saya yang selalu mengajukan pertanyaan sulit : What wishes do you have for the year ahead? Boleh nggak saya memilih untuk tidak make a wish kali ini :) ? Atau ... probably just a simple wish : become a better person, qualitatively.

p.s. Thank you buat semuanya, yang di sini dan yang di sana.

Comments

Anonymous said…
he he he he...
no worries about the part where you are blaming God and that your life is a mess.. :p

that's why you need His grace to continue on living, right?

Life is good.. Life is beautiful.
Happy 28! :)
redwhitebride said…
happy 28! am a year older and still far from that 'better person' wish myself. may you'll be blessed with success & happiness this year and the following ones.
Mita said…
anonymous : thank u :) yap, life is beautiful

lis : thanks a lot :)
clodi said…
mita..

met ultah yah..
GBU! =)
Anonymous said…
selamat. tetap komikal dan menggemaskan seperti 20 tahun silam. matahari terbit 40 tahun mendatang. nenek donald. j
Anonymous said…
tambah umur, dan ganti lay-out ya? :D

Selamat ultah mit (telat banget). All the best for the comin' year

Popular posts from this blog

Thanksgiving 2020

What a crazy ride we have been riding in 2020. The COVID-19 pandemic has pretty much put our life on hold, if not going on a slower pace. I feel that we are running a marathon, and it's not over yet. The emotional toll that we have been experiencing since March is real. Everything that we used to take for granted, like meeting up with friends, birthday parties, kids activities, traveling, the convenience of doing grocery shopping anytime we want, a lot of them have been taken away from us, from my family. No more parties, no more lunch or dinner with friends, no more invitation for birthday parties, no more traveling. Perhaps my life had become too easy before the pandemic. We had to switch Nathaniel from a brick and mortar school to a cyber school. I tried to plan my grocery trips ahead of time to avoid crowds. We had to wear masks everywhere. But at least we are healthy. At least I am facing this together with my husband and kids as a family. At least I am at home that is fu...

What would they decide ?

When I was a little girl, I heard a lot of stories about far-away lands from my mother. She told me stories that she got from my father's letters when he was away. Our family was apart for four years. My father went to school to Montpelier, France while my Mom raised my brother and me in Yogyakarta. Every other year Dad visited us, brought a lot of books and pictures home. Pictures of Versailles, Lourdes, Marseilles, Spain, and a lot more. He told us many stories, brought me from our little home to those countries, although only in imagination. Since that day, I convinced myself that someday, when I grow up, I will see those places with my own eyes :) About twenty some years later, my turn came. I stand here, a few thousand miles away from home. About once a week I call home, talked to my parents about this place. About the harsh winter in Pittsburgh, about my new town near Philadelphia, about my new job. I might not be here if my father never brought me those pictures, told me st...

Turned out alright

Last week everything turned out alright :) Jumat siang, dengan restu teman2 kantor :p gw cabut dari kantor, walaupun area leader gw ngajakin meeting buat next recipe, tapi dia bilang "Go ahead and don't worry about the meeting, you better get your license today :p" . Jam 12.30an, gw dijemput sama orang dari driving school, dan ngebutlah kita ke DMV Norristown ngejar ujian jam 2 siang. Gw deg2an banget, apalagi karena udah gagal 1x. Kalau gw fail lagi, means that I screw everything up. Karena in the next four weeks para tebengan bakalan cabut ke site di Oregon (gak mungkin kan gw jalan 2 mile ke kantor), kontrak apartment gw habis akhir September dan gw harus cari apartment baru, dan ada chance gw bakalan dikirim ke Oregon juga (walaupun bukan shift pertama). Tapi above it all, hidup tergantung sama orang lain itu sucks. Gw gak bisa bebas ke mana-mana, gak bisa cari kegiatan dan temen2 sendiri (temennya ya cuman temen dari temen gw), gak ada social life sama sekali. Nyampe...