Skip to main content

Setengah Cina :)

Semua orang pada Sin-Cia an, jadi sepi neh kantor. Tapi masih ada yang akses file di server. Jadi penunggu server deh ... hehehe ... Buat yang merayakan Chinese New Year, Gong Xi Fat Chai yak :) ! May u all have a wonderful and prosperous new year.

Omong2 tentang Chinese New Year, seumur2 aku belum pernah merayakannya secara khusus. Dengan statusku yang half-half, setengah Jowo half Chinese ini, aku gak punya kultur yang sangat2 kuat. Memang seh, I spend most of my life with my father's family, yang Jawa itu. Tapi kalau dibilang aku Jawa banget, perasaan gak juga deh hehehe ... aku bahkan baru lancar ngomong Jawa setelah SMP, waktu kami sekeluarga pindah dari kompleks perumahan ke sebuah kampung yang desaaaa banget ... hehehe. Sesuai dengan tuntutan masyarakat di sekitar, akhirnya bisa deh ngomong Jawa. Sebelumnya bonyok selalu membiasakan diri kami untuk ngomong dalam Bahasa Indonesia.

Temanku beberapa hari yll nyeletuk, "Kamu kan Chinese Mit, kamu apal 12 shio gak :D ?" What? "Aku kan cuma setengah Cina hahaha" belaku. "Kalo gitu paling gak harus apal 6 shio dong " ... hahaha ... temenku nih maksa banget yak.

Yah, harus diakui, that's me. Seseorang yang gak punya latar belakang kultur yang kuat. Tapi so what gitu lho :p ? Kadang-kadang aku menganggap semua yang berhubungan dengan adat (Jawa maupun Cina) is too complex, ribet, nggak praktis. Gak cinta budaya banget ya :D Hehehe ... mungkin iya, aku lebih suka kepraktisan. Gak pusing dengan adat, aku Jawa atau Cina. So, kalau ada yang nanya kamu suku apa? Hmmm, to tell u the truth aku gak terlalu suka dengan pertanyaan itu. Tapi namanya orang nanya, ya aku dengan senyum manis akan jawab, I am half half. Half Javanese, half Chinese. Bunglon ... huehehehe ....

*dedicated buat semua teman yang half-half :p*

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Thanksgiving 2020

What a crazy ride we have been riding in 2020. The COVID-19 pandemic has pretty much put our life on hold, if not going on a slower pace. I feel that we are running a marathon, and it's not over yet. The emotional toll that we have been experiencing since March is real. Everything that we used to take for granted, like meeting up with friends, birthday parties, kids activities, traveling, the convenience of doing grocery shopping anytime we want, a lot of them have been taken away from us, from my family. No more parties, no more lunch or dinner with friends, no more invitation for birthday parties, no more traveling. Perhaps my life had become too easy before the pandemic. We had to switch Nathaniel from a brick and mortar school to a cyber school. I tried to plan my grocery trips ahead of time to avoid crowds. We had to wear masks everywhere. But at least we are healthy. At least I am facing this together with my husband and kids as a family. At least I am at home that is fu...

What would they decide ?

When I was a little girl, I heard a lot of stories about far-away lands from my mother. She told me stories that she got from my father's letters when he was away. Our family was apart for four years. My father went to school to Montpelier, France while my Mom raised my brother and me in Yogyakarta. Every other year Dad visited us, brought a lot of books and pictures home. Pictures of Versailles, Lourdes, Marseilles, Spain, and a lot more. He told us many stories, brought me from our little home to those countries, although only in imagination. Since that day, I convinced myself that someday, when I grow up, I will see those places with my own eyes :) About twenty some years later, my turn came. I stand here, a few thousand miles away from home. About once a week I call home, talked to my parents about this place. About the harsh winter in Pittsburgh, about my new town near Philadelphia, about my new job. I might not be here if my father never brought me those pictures, told me st...

Turned out alright

Last week everything turned out alright :) Jumat siang, dengan restu teman2 kantor :p gw cabut dari kantor, walaupun area leader gw ngajakin meeting buat next recipe, tapi dia bilang "Go ahead and don't worry about the meeting, you better get your license today :p" . Jam 12.30an, gw dijemput sama orang dari driving school, dan ngebutlah kita ke DMV Norristown ngejar ujian jam 2 siang. Gw deg2an banget, apalagi karena udah gagal 1x. Kalau gw fail lagi, means that I screw everything up. Karena in the next four weeks para tebengan bakalan cabut ke site di Oregon (gak mungkin kan gw jalan 2 mile ke kantor), kontrak apartment gw habis akhir September dan gw harus cari apartment baru, dan ada chance gw bakalan dikirim ke Oregon juga (walaupun bukan shift pertama). Tapi above it all, hidup tergantung sama orang lain itu sucks. Gw gak bisa bebas ke mana-mana, gak bisa cari kegiatan dan temen2 sendiri (temennya ya cuman temen dari temen gw), gak ada social life sama sekali. Nyampe...