Skip to main content

Kurang Bersyukur

* Aku mau resign, cari kerjaan baru, kalau perlu mulai dari bawah lagi ...

# Hah, elo serius? Kok tiba2 ekstrem gitu sih?

* Pusing, capek jadi orang miskin :( *nggerundel mode on*.
Abis effort dan rewardnya gak sebanding siiih ... hiks hiks.

# Pasti gara2 adjustment itu ...
Elo tuh ya, banyak yang enggak naik gaji, even cuma 5% doang.
Banyak yang gak dapet bonus.
Elo tuh tetep harus bersyukur, walaupun cuma 5%.

* Tapi kan, tapi kan ... huahhhhh .... Aku gak bisa nabung sekarang. Mepeeet.
Kalau ada sisa, paling berapa seh. I have to do something with mylife.
I'll take my risk. Kalau emang harus mulai dari bawah lagi, I'll do it,
kalau menjanjikan karier yang jelas.

# Kalo elo mulai dari bawah lagi, susah buat dapet salary sama dengan yang elo
dapatkan sekarang. Jangan sampai yang elo rintis selama ini sia-sia karena
keputusan emosional doang.
Udah punya rumah itu lho!!

* Ya itu lah yang bikin aku mikir, pusing nih, pusinggg ...

[ phone ringing ... ternyata seorang temen lama nelpon sobatku]

# Gw lagi sama Mita neh, dia lagi stress, pengen resign gara2 adjustment itu.

@ Gw 5% aja gak dapet. Di sini naik 3% juga udah bagus

# Tuh Mit, dengerin, si **** aja gak ada adjustment.

* Yey, tolong yaaa, di sana gak ada inflasi ...
Di sini inflasi 6.4 %, kalau adjustment di bawah inflasi.
Itu artinya gajiku turunnnn.

# Eh, si Mita bilang di sana gak ada inflasi ?

@ Di sini inflasi 4%

# Biasa tuh si Mita kalau lagi emosi ...

[phone conversation continue ...]


# Mit, tuh, dengerin lagi, bukan gak ada inflasi di sana.

* Hmmm. Yang jelas aku capeek.
I don't want to be stucked here, when everybody else already ran.

[percakapan dalam hati]

Emang aku kurang bersyukur gitu?

Emang siiih banyak yang gak dapet adjustment, banyak yang gak dapet bonus.

Tapi, I deserve the best, don't I ?



Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Thanksgiving 2020

What a crazy ride we have been riding in 2020. The COVID-19 pandemic has pretty much put our life on hold, if not going on a slower pace. I feel that we are running a marathon, and it's not over yet. The emotional toll that we have been experiencing since March is real. Everything that we used to take for granted, like meeting up with friends, birthday parties, kids activities, traveling, the convenience of doing grocery shopping anytime we want, a lot of them have been taken away from us, from my family. No more parties, no more lunch or dinner with friends, no more invitation for birthday parties, no more traveling. Perhaps my life had become too easy before the pandemic. We had to switch Nathaniel from a brick and mortar school to a cyber school. I tried to plan my grocery trips ahead of time to avoid crowds. We had to wear masks everywhere. But at least we are healthy. At least I am facing this together with my husband and kids as a family. At least I am at home that is fu...

What would they decide ?

When I was a little girl, I heard a lot of stories about far-away lands from my mother. She told me stories that she got from my father's letters when he was away. Our family was apart for four years. My father went to school to Montpelier, France while my Mom raised my brother and me in Yogyakarta. Every other year Dad visited us, brought a lot of books and pictures home. Pictures of Versailles, Lourdes, Marseilles, Spain, and a lot more. He told us many stories, brought me from our little home to those countries, although only in imagination. Since that day, I convinced myself that someday, when I grow up, I will see those places with my own eyes :) About twenty some years later, my turn came. I stand here, a few thousand miles away from home. About once a week I call home, talked to my parents about this place. About the harsh winter in Pittsburgh, about my new town near Philadelphia, about my new job. I might not be here if my father never brought me those pictures, told me st...

Turned out alright

Last week everything turned out alright :) Jumat siang, dengan restu teman2 kantor :p gw cabut dari kantor, walaupun area leader gw ngajakin meeting buat next recipe, tapi dia bilang "Go ahead and don't worry about the meeting, you better get your license today :p" . Jam 12.30an, gw dijemput sama orang dari driving school, dan ngebutlah kita ke DMV Norristown ngejar ujian jam 2 siang. Gw deg2an banget, apalagi karena udah gagal 1x. Kalau gw fail lagi, means that I screw everything up. Karena in the next four weeks para tebengan bakalan cabut ke site di Oregon (gak mungkin kan gw jalan 2 mile ke kantor), kontrak apartment gw habis akhir September dan gw harus cari apartment baru, dan ada chance gw bakalan dikirim ke Oregon juga (walaupun bukan shift pertama). Tapi above it all, hidup tergantung sama orang lain itu sucks. Gw gak bisa bebas ke mana-mana, gak bisa cari kegiatan dan temen2 sendiri (temennya ya cuman temen dari temen gw), gak ada social life sama sekali. Nyampe...